Optimal Cluster sizes for SQL Server on SSDs – are 64K still important?

Lately, with the advance of SSDs, more and more administrators are wondering: Is the old rule to use a 64K Cluster size for SQL Server still applicable on today’s hard drives, especially SSDs or even Flash? And: Does it apply to all RAID-types equally? This summer I took some time to conduct some IO benchmarks […]

Optimizing workflows with In-Memory and Natively Compiled Objects – or how it does not work

During the course of optimizing data-access-code with the In-Memory-functionalities in Microsoft SQL Server (memory optimized tables + indexes, memory optimized table valued parameters and natively compiled stored procedures), you may often realize that sometimes you go one step forward and then another one backwards.

Index-Cheat-Sheet. The complete Index-compatibility Matrix for SQL Server

With the total of 4 new index types we have gained since SQL Server 2012 now we also have a total of 4 basic formats (Heap, Clustered Index, Clustered Columnstore Index, memory-optimized “varheap”) for data storage in SQL Server. And what’s more, with SQL Server 2016, these can be combined in various ways.

The SQL Server 2016 In-Memory Evolution – from row-store to columnstore to in-memory operational analytics

SQL Server 2016 is finally available and, by extension, the “version 2” of the In-Memory OLTP Engine, if you will. At various international conferences and already at the IX in 2014 I have presented what is behind the In-Memory Engine of SQL Server introduced in SQL Server 2014. Only I had not yet found the […]

Conferences in SQL Server summer 2016

It feels like I have just been back from the SQLBits XV in Liverpool, where I introduced the Security Features of the SQL Server 2016 (SQL Server 2016 – Security Obscurity and Encryption), and next thing I know, I am already in the middle of planning the next SQL Server Master-Class on High Availability with […]

My conference sessions in 2015: from Extended Events over In-Memory to Security

Finally I get to write about my conference-talks in 2015. The year started really great with the German SQL Server Konferenz in Darmstadt with 2 sessions on In-Memory OLTP in SQL Server 2014 – one of them being even a full-day PreCon, which I co-presented with Niko Neugebauer, who was talking about Clustered ColumnStore Indexes.

Optimale Clustergrößen für SQL Server auf SSDs – sind 64K noch wichtig?

In letzter Zeit fragen sich mit der Weiterentwicklung von SSDs immer mehr Administratoren: Ist die alte Regel, eine 64K-Clustergröße für SQL Server zu verwenden, immer noch auf den heutigen Festplatten zutreffend, besonders auf SSDs oder gar Flash? Und: Trifft es auf alle RAID-Typen gleich zu? Diesen Sommer nahm ich mir etwas Zeit, einige IO Benchmarks […]

Optimieren von Workflows mit In-Memory und nativ kompilierten Objekten – oder wie es nicht funktioniert

Beim Optimieren von Datenzugangs-Code mit den In-Memory-Funktionalitäten bei Microsoft SQL Server (memory-optimierte Tabellen + Indexe, memory-optimierte tabellengewertete Parameter und nativ kompilierte gespeicherte Prozeduren) wird man oftmals feststellen, dass man manchmal einen Schritt nach vorn und dann wieder einen rückwärts macht.

Index-Cheat-Sheet. Die vollständige Index-Kompatibilitäts-Matrix für SQL Server

Mit den insgesamt 4 neuen Indextypen, die uns seit SQL Server 2012 beschert wurden, gibt es nun auch insgesamt 4 Basis-Formate (Heap, Clustered Index, Clustered Columnstore Index, memory-optimized „varheap“) für die Speicherung von Daten in SQL Server. Und mit SQL Server 2016 sind diese obendrein in verschiedener Weise kombinierbar. In diesem Artikel stellt Andreas Wolter […]

Die SQL Server 2016 In-Memory Evolution – Von Row-Store zu Columnstore zu In-Memory Operational Analytics

Konferenzen im SQL Server Sommer 2016

Kaum von den SQLBits XV in Liverpool zurück, auf der ich die Security-Features des SQL Server 2016 vorstellen durfte (SQL Server 2016 – Security Obscurity and Encryption), bin ich im Moment mit der Planung der nächsten SQL Server Master-Class zu Hochverfügbarkeit mit SQL Server (SHA) beschäftigt, die vom 20.-22.6. bei Frankfurt a.M. stattfinden wird.

Meine Konferenz-Vorträge 2015

Endlich komme ich dazu, auf meine Konferenz-Vorträge dieses Jahr einzugehen. Das Jahr begann gleich großartig mit der Deutschen SQL Server Konferenz in Darmstadt mit 2 Sessions zu In-Memory OLTP in SQL Server 2014 – eine davon sogar eine ganztägige PreCon, welche ich mit Niko Neugebauer co-präsentierte, der über Clustered ColumnStore Indexe sprach.